Two products, and a counter we have not seen
Bambino Plus vs Barista Pro: which fits your counter
Bambino Plus is 7.7 in (19.6 cm) wide, 12.6 in (32 cm) deep (seattlecoffeegear.com, 25 September 2026) and height: published figures differ. Barista Pro is 13.9 in (35.4 cm) wide, 16.1 in (41 cm) deep and 16 in (40.6 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though John Lewis prints the depth as 13.5 in (34.3 cm). Width separates them by more than anything else, 6.2 in (15.8 cm). With 13.9 in (35.4 cm) of width or more, both fit; between 7.7 in (19.6 cm) and 13.9 in (35.4 cm) only the Bambino Plus clears; below 7.7 in (19.6 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.
Which takes less room, the Bambino Plus or the Barista Pro?
Width separates them by more than anything else, 6.2 in (15.8 cm). With 13.9 in (35.4 cm) of width or more, both fit; between 7.7 in (19.6 cm) and 13.9 in (35.4 cm) only the Bambino Plus clears; below 7.7 in (19.6 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.
How do the Bambino Plus and Barista Pro compare, figure by figure?
| What decides it | If the counter is tightBambino Plus$499.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | If you have the widthBarista Pro$849.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | The difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 rows we can fill | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage. | |||
| Width | Bambino Plus7.7 in (19.6 cm)smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro13.9 in (35.4 cm)largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference6.2 in (15.8 cm)BAMBINO PLUS IS SMALLER |
| Depth | Bambino Plus12.6 in (32 cm)smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference3.5 in (9 cm)BAMBINO PLUS IS SMALLER |
| Power rating | Bambino Plus1560 WsmallerMANUFACTURER · 2 September 2026 | Barista Pro1680 WlargerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The difference120 WBAMBINO PLUS IS SMALLER |
| Voltage | Bambino Plus120 VMANUFACTURER · 2 September 2026 | Barista Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The differenceThe same |
| Weight | Bambino Plus10.9 lb (5 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro20.9 lb (9.5 kg)largerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The difference10 lb (4.5 kg)BAMBINO PLUS IS SMALLER |
| 4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden | |||
| Height | Published figures differPublished figures differ for the Bambino Plus, so that reading is not used. | ||
| Shot quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has pulled one. | ||
| Reliability over five years | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data. | ||
| Build quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here. | ||
| Still missing before a fit answer | Bambino PlusNothing missingPublished figures differ on height, so neither is used. | Barista ProNothing outstanding | The differenceNot comparable |
| What the maker states | |||
| 5 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, How the tank comes out, Portafilter basket, Heat-up time, Warranty. | |||
| 2 measures with no figure to compare: Boiler volume and material, Body material. | |||
| Weight | Bambino Plus4950 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro9488 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Voltage | Bambino Plus120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 1 September 2026 | Barista Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Power draw | Bambino Plus1560 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 1 September 2026 | Barista Pro1680 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Current draw | Bambino Plus13 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 1 September 2026 | Barista Pro14 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Tank size | Bambino Plus64 fl.ozBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista Pro2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| How the tank comes out | Bambino PlusTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Filling it in place | Bambino PlusNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler | Bambino Plusthermocoil, marketed as ThermoJetBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Prothermocoil, marketed as ThermoJet, LCD displayBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler volume and material | Bambino PlusNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Pump pressure | Bambino Plus15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Portafilter basket | Bambino Plus54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Pro54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Heat-up time | Bambino PlusReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista ProReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Temperature control | Bambino PlusPID TEMPERATURE CONTROLBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProTHERMOJET™ HEATING SYSTEMASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Milk frother | Bambino PlusWith automatic milk texturingBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Built-in grinder | Bambino PlusNo6 September 2026 | Barista ProYes6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Body material | Bambino PlusNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Warranty | Bambino Plus2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista Pro2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Owner reports | |||
| What owners say | Bambino PlusHow loud it is: an owner calls the machine loud enough to be awkward in a shared space at 5am, though quieter than a commercial machine2026-09-117 owner reports describe this machine. | Barista ProRoom behind: rear storage tray collects water behind the tank2026-09-087 owner reports describe this machine. | The differenceNot comparable |
| For and against | |||
| The evidence's own case | Bambino Plus For
Against
| Barista Pro For
Against
| The differenceNot comparable |
| Its own page | See the Bambino Plus | See the Barista Pro | |
Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.
More comparisons with Bambino Plus Espresso Machine (BES500): vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK), vs Classic E24 Espresso Machine (RI9380)
More comparisons with Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878): vs Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL), vs Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876)
Which one for which kitchen?
Depth and width both favour the Bambino Plus, which is 320 mm deep and 196 mm wide, while the Barista Pro is 410 mm deep and 354 mm wide. Two retailers that label each side stand behind every one of those figures, within 5 mm of each other: Seattle Coffee Gear with Target or Whole Latte Love for the Plus, Bi-Rite Home Appliances and Harts of Stur for the Pro. The Pro adds a grinder, a conical burr grinder with a half-pound hopper, and weighs 9.488 kg to the Plus's 4.95 kg. Both state a 3-second ThermoJet heat-up and both carry a two-year warranty, and the Pro lists an LCD display.
Measure the counter from the wall to the front edge first. Less than 410 mm of depth rules the Pro out. If you have the room and no grinder, the Pro puts the grinder inside a 354 by 410 mm footprint. If you own a grinder or would rather buy one separately, the Plus takes 90 mm less depth and 158 mm less width than the Pro. Milk drinks tip it further toward the Plus, whose automatic wand has three temperatures and three texture levels. Take the Plus for a shallow counter or a grinder you own, and the Pro for a deep counter with no grinder.
Where can you buy them?
What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.
| Item | Merchant | Availability | Price | Returns | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bambino Plus Espresso Machine (BES500) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$499.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. | |
| Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$849.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. |
Bambino Plus Espresso Machine (BES500)
Brevillethe brand's own store- Price
- Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$499.95
- Returns
- Check the seller's return window before you buy.
Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878)
Brevillethe brand's own store- Price
- Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$849.95
- Returns
- Check the seller's return window before you buy.
What do owners report about each?
Bambino Plus
Seven reports describe the Bambino Plus.
Most reported
- room above3 reports · 1 source
- how it holds up2 reports · 1 source
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.
Barista Pro
Seven reports describe the Barista Pro, all from a single source.
Most reported
- reaching the hopper3 reports · 1 source
- room behind2 reports · 1 source
As of 8 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Your counter decides it.
If the counter is tight: the Bambino Plus. If you have the width: the Barista Pro.
Between 7.7 in (19.6 cm) and 13.9 in (35.4 cm) only the Bambino Plus Espresso Machine (BES500) clears. At 13.9 in (35.4 cm) or more the width decides nothing, and under 7.7 in (19.6 cm) neither of them fits. (retailer)
We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.
Measure the widest point, from the left edge to the right edge, in millimetres.
Your counter
Three numbers, and both machines are judged on them, side by side.
Same rule as every other fit on this site: the machine's size plus the room its maker asks for, against your width, your depth and the space above. Your counter is kept in this browser only. No account, nothing sent to Setistry, nothing shared; clear your browser and it is gone.






