Barista Express Impress
15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)]depth · retailer
Two products, and a counter we have not seen
Barista Express Impress is 13 in (33 cm) wide, 15 in (38.1 cm) deep and 16.3 in (41.3 cm) tall (seattlecoffeegear.com, 25 September 2026), though Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints the width as 15 in (38 cm), and though Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints the depth as 13 in (33 cm). Barista Pro is 13.9 in (35.4 cm) wide, 16.1 in (41 cm) deep and 16 in (40.6 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though John Lewis prints the depth as 13.5 in (34.3 cm). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 1.1 in (2.9 cm). With 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Express Impress clears; below 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
Six rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.
Depth separates them by more than anything else, 1.1 in (2.9 cm). With 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Express Impress clears; below 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)]depth · retailer
16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)]depth · retailer
| What decides it | If the counter is tightBarista Express Impress$799.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | If you have the depthBarista Pro$849.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | The difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 rows we can fill | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage. | |||
| Width | Barista Express Impress13 in (33 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 15 in (38 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro13.9 in (35.4 cm)largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.9 in (2.4 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IMPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Depth | Barista Express Impress15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference1.1 in (2.9 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IMPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Height | Barista Express Impress16.3 in (41.3 cm)largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro16 in (40.6 cm)smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.3 in (0.7 cm)BARISTA PRO IS SMALLER |
| Power rating | Barista Express Impress1750 WlargerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro1680 WsmallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The difference70 WBARISTA PRO IS SMALLER |
| Voltage | Barista Express Impress120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The differenceThe same |
| Weight | Barista Express Impress22.6 lb (10.3 kg)largerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | Barista Pro20.9 lb (9.5 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The difference1.7 lb (762 g)BARISTA PRO IS SMALLER |
| 3 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Still missing before a fit answer. | |||
| Shot quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has pulled one. | ||
| Reliability over five years | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data. | ||
| Build quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here. | ||
| Still missing before a fit answer | Barista Express ImpressNothing outstanding | Barista ProNothing outstanding | The differenceNot comparable |
| What the maker states | |||
| 7 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Tank size, How the tank comes out, Filling it in place, Portafilter basket, Built-in grinder, Warranty. | |||
| 3 measures with no figure to compare: Boiler volume and material, Milk frother, Body material. | |||
| Weight | Barista Express Impress10250 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Pro9488 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Voltage | Barista Express Impress120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Power draw | Barista Express Impress1750 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro1680 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Current draw | Barista Express Impress14.6 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro14 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Tank size | Barista Express Impress2 LASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| How the tank comes out | Barista Express ImpressTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Filling it in place | Barista Express ImpressNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler | Barista Express Impressthermocoil, PID temperature control at 200FBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Prothermocoil, marketed as ThermoJet, LCD displayBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler volume and material | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Pump pressure | Barista Express Impress15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Portafilter basket | Barista Express Impress54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Pro54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Heat-up time | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Temperature control | Barista Express ImpressTHERMOCOIL PRECISIONASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProTHERMOJET™ HEATING SYSTEMASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Milk frother | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Built-in grinder | Barista Express ImpressYes6 September 2026 | Barista ProYes6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Body material | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Warranty | Barista Express Impress2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista Pro2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Owner reports | |||
| What owners say | Barista Express ImpressBeans that clog it: about 30 percent of the time beans jam at the hopper's feed openings and have to be stirred loose2026-09-1110 owner reports describe this machine. | Barista ProRoom behind: rear storage tray collects water behind the tank2026-09-087 owner reports describe this machine. | The differenceNot comparable |
| For and against | |||
| The evidence's own case | Barista Express Impress For
Against
| Barista Pro For
Against
| The differenceNot comparable |
| Its own page | See the Barista Express Impress | See the Barista Pro | |
Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.
More comparisons with Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876): vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK), vs Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL)
More comparisons with Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878): vs Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880), vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK)
The Impress is the smaller of these two on depth and on width, 381 mm deep against the Pro's 410 mm and 330 mm wide against 354 mm. Height is level, 413 mm and 406 mm, within 10 mm. Two retailer listings that label each side sit within 5 mm on each figure: Seattle Coffee Gear with Target or Bi-Rite Home Appliances for the Impress, Bi-Rite and Harts of Stur for the Pro. A counter between 381 and 410 mm deep takes only the Impress.
Beyond space, each lists something the other does not. The Impress has the assisted tamping lever; the Pro lists a ThermoJet heater with a 3-second heat-up and an LCD display. Both carry a two-year warranty, a 54 mm portafilter and a 2 L tank that lifts out upward, so those do not split them. The Impress weighs 10.25 kg and the Pro 9.488 kg, and their rating plates read 1750 W and 1680 W, so if your circuit is crowded the Pro draws 70 W less. Choose the Impress for a counter under 410 mm deep, and the Pro where depth is not short and you want its heater.
What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.
| Item | Merchant | Availability | Price | Returns | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$799.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. | |
| Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$849.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. |
Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876)
Brevillethe brand's own storeBarista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878)
Brevillethe brand's own storeTen reports describe the Barista Express Impress.
Most reported
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.
Seven reports describe the Barista Pro, all from a single source.
Most reported
As of 8 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

If the counter is tight: the Barista Express Impress. If you have the depth: the Barista Pro.
Between 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876) clears. At 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] or more the depth decides nothing, and under 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] neither of them fits. (retailer)
We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.
Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, including any drip tray or handle.
Your counter
Three numbers, and both machines are judged on them, side by side.
Same rule as every other fit on this site: the machine's size plus the room its maker asks for, against your width, your depth and the space above. Your counter is kept in this browser only. No account, nothing sent to Setistry, nothing shared; clear your browser and it is gone.