Barista Express
12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]depth · retailer
Two products, and a counter we have not seen
Barista Express is 13.3 in (33.8 cm) wide, 12.3 in (31.3 cm) deep and 16 in (40.7 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though Williams Sonoma prints the width as 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm), and though Seattle Coffee Gear prints the depth as 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm), and though Whole Latte Love prints the height as 15.8 in (40.1 cm); Williams Sonoma prints 14.5 in (36.8 cm). Barista Pro is 13.9 in (35.4 cm) wide, 16.1 in (41 cm) deep and 16 in (40.6 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though John Lewis prints the depth as 13.5 in (34.3 cm). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 3.8 in (9.7 cm). With 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Express clears; below 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.
Depth separates them by more than anything else, 3.8 in (9.7 cm). With 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Express clears; below 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]depth · retailer
16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)]depth · retailer
| What decides it | If the counter is tightBarista Express$699.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | If you have the depthBarista Pro$849.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | The difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 rows we can fill | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage. | |||
| Width | Barista Express13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro13.9 in (35.4 cm)largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.6 in (1.6 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Depth | Barista Express12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference3.8 in (9.7 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Height | Barista Express16 in (40.7 cm) [Whole Latte Love prints 15.8 in (40.1 cm); Williams Sonoma prints 14.5 in (36.8 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Pro16 in (40.6 cm)smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0 in (0.1 cm)BARISTA PRO IS SMALLER |
| Voltage | Barista Express120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The differenceThe same |
| Weight | Barista Express22.1 lb (10 kg)largerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro20.9 lb (9.5 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The difference1.2 lb (530 g)BARISTA PRO IS SMALLER |
| 4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden | |||
| Power rating | Published figures differPublished figures differ for the Barista Express, so that reading is not used. | ||
| Shot quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has pulled one. | ||
| Reliability over five years | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data. | ||
| Build quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here. | ||
| Still missing before a fit answer | Barista ExpressNothing missingPublished figures differ on power rating, so neither is used. | Barista ProNothing outstanding | The differenceNot comparable |
| What the maker states | |||
| 6 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Tank size, How the tank comes out, Filling it in place, Portafilter basket, Built-in grinder. | |||
| 3 measures with no figure to compare: Boiler volume and material, Milk frother, Body material. | |||
| Weight | Barista Express10018 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro9488 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Voltage | Barista Express120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Power draw | Barista ExpressPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit. | Barista Pro1680 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Current draw | Barista ExpressNot stated at the source we hold | Barista Pro14 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Tank size | Barista Express2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| How the tank comes out | Barista ExpressTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Filling it in place | Barista ExpressNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler | Barista Expresssingle, thermocoil (not badged ThermoJet on this model)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Prothermocoil, marketed as ThermoJet, LCD displayBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler volume and material | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Pump pressure | Barista Express15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Portafilter basket | Barista Express54 mmASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Pro54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Heat-up time | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Temperature control | Barista ExpressPID TEMPERATURE CONTROLASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista ProTHERMOJET™ HEATING SYSTEMASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Milk frother | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Built-in grinder | Barista ExpressYes6 September 2026 | Barista ProYes6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Body material | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Warranty | Barista Express1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista Pro2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Owner reports | |||
| What owners say | Barista ExpressFilling the tank where it stands: unless it is plumbed in, the machine has to be slid out of its corner to take the tank out2026-09-1111 owner reports describe this machine. | Barista ProRoom behind: rear storage tray collects water behind the tank2026-09-087 owner reports describe this machine. | The differenceNot comparable |
| For and against | |||
| The evidence's own case | Barista Express For
Against
| Barista Pro For
Against
| The differenceNot comparable |
| Its own page | See the Barista Express | See the Barista Pro | |
Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.
More comparisons with Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL): vs Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880), vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK)
More comparisons with Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878): vs Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876), vs Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880)
The Barista Pro is 97 mm deeper than the Barista Express, 410 mm against 313 mm, and 16 mm wider, 354 mm against 338 mm, while the two stand level in height at 406 mm and 407 mm. The sizes are labelled retailer figures, from Bi-Rite Home Appliances and Harts of Stur for the Pro and from Bi-Rite with Seattle Coffee Gear or Williams Sonoma for the Express, each pair within 5 mm. If your counter is between 313 and 410 mm deep, only the Express fits; at 410 mm or deeper, either does.
What the Pro gives for the extra depth is mostly the heater and the warranty. It lists a ThermoJet heater with a 3-second heat-up, an LCD display and a two-year warranty, where the Express has a thermocoil heater without the ThermoJet name and a one-year warranty. The two share a 54 mm portafilter, a half-pound hopper and a 2 L tank that lifts out upward, and the Pro weighs 530 g less, 9.488 kg against 10.018 kg. Take the Express for a shallow counter. Take the Pro when you have 410 mm of depth and want the ThermoJet heater and the longer warranty.
What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.
| Item | Merchant | Availability | Price | Returns | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$699.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. | |
| Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$849.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. |
Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL)
Brevillethe brand's own storeBarista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878)
Brevillethe brand's own storeEleven reports describe the Barista Express.
Most reported
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.
Seven reports describe the Barista Pro, all from a single source.
Most reported
As of 8 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

If the counter is tight: the Barista Express. If you have the depth: the Barista Pro.
Between 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL) clears. At 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] or more the depth decides nothing, and under 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] neither of them fits. (retailer)
We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.
Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, including any drip tray or handle.
Your counter
Three numbers, and both machines are judged on them, side by side.
Same rule as every other fit on this site: the machine's size plus the room its maker asks for, against your width, your depth and the space above. Your counter is kept in this browser only. No account, nothing sent to Setistry, nothing shared; clear your browser and it is gone.