Two products, and a counter we have not seen

Barista Pro vs Barista Touch: which fits your counter

Barista Pro is 13.9 in (35.4 cm) wide, 16.1 in (41 cm) deep and 16 in (40.6 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though John Lewis prints the depth as 13.5 in (34.3 cm). Barista Touch is 12.5 in (31.8 cm) wide, 12.7 in (32.3 cm) deep and 16 in (40.6 cm) tall (abt.com, 25 September 2026), though Breville (bes880 product page) prints the depth as 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm), and though Breville (bes880 product page) prints the height as 15.7 in (39.9 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 15.7 in (40 cm). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 3.4 in (8.7 cm). With 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Touch clears; below 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.

Six rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.

Back to the picker

Which takes less room, the Barista Pro or the Barista Touch?

Depth separates them by more than anything else, 3.4 in (8.7 cm). With 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Touch clears; below 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.

The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.

How do the Barista Pro and Barista Touch compare, figure by figure?

Every figure is used the same way it is used on each machine's own page. Where published figures differ, neither is used as a number.
What decides itIf you have the depthBarista Pro$849.95 at Breville · Oct 29If the counter is tightBarista Touch$999.95 at Breville · Oct 29The difference
6 rows we can fill
2 measures read the same on every machine: Power rating, Voltage.
WidthBarista Pro13.9 in (35.4 cm)largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026Barista Touch12.5 in (31.8 cm)smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026The difference1.4 in (3.6 cm)BARISTA TOUCH IS SMALLER
DepthBarista Pro16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026Barista Touch12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026The difference3.4 in (8.7 cm)BARISTA TOUCH IS SMALLER
HeightBarista Pro16 in (40.6 cm)RETAILER · 25 September 2026Barista Touch16 in (40.6 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 15.7 in (39.9 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 15.7 in (40 cm)]RETAILER · 25 September 2026The differenceThe same
Power ratingBarista Pro1680 WMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026Barista Touch1680 WMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The differenceThe same
VoltageBarista Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026Barista Touch120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The differenceThe same
WeightBarista Pro20.9 lb (9.5 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026Barista Touch21.8 lb (9.9 kg)largerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The difference0.9 lb (400 g)BARISTA PRO IS SMALLER
3 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden
1 measure reads the same on every machine: Still missing before a fit answer.
Shot qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has pulled one.
Reliability over five yearsNot ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data.
Build qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here.
Still missing before a fit answerBarista ProNothing outstandingBarista TouchNothing outstandingThe differenceNot comparable
What the maker states
8 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Power draw, Current draw, Tank size, Filling it in place, Portafilter basket, Heat-up time, Built-in grinder.
2 measures with no figure to compare: Boiler volume and material, Body material.
WeightBarista Pro9488 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026Barista Touch9888 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
VoltageBarista Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026Barista Touch120 VBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Power drawBarista Pro1680 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026Barista Touch1680 WBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Current drawBarista Pro14 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026Barista Touch14 ABREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Tank sizeBarista Pro2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026Barista Touch2 LBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
How the tank comes outBarista ProTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026Barista TouchRearASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Filling it in placeBarista ProNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026Barista TouchNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
BoilerBarista Prothermocoil, marketed as ThermoJet, LCD displayBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026Barista Touchthermocoil, ThermoJetBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Boiler volume and materialBarista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Barista TouchNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Pump pressureBarista ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Barista Touch15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Portafilter basketBarista Pro54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026Barista Touch54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Heat-up timeBarista ProReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026Barista TouchReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Temperature controlBarista ProTHERMOJET™ HEATING SYSTEMASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026Barista TouchPID TEMPERATURE CONTROLASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Milk frotherBarista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Barista TouchFor automatic milk texturingASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Built-in grinderBarista ProYes6 September 2026Barista TouchYes6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Body materialBarista ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Barista TouchNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
WarrantyBarista Pro2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026Barista Touch2 Year WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Owner reports
What owners sayBarista ProRoom behind: rear storage tray collects water behind the tank2026-09-087 owner reports describe this machine.Barista TouchBeans that clog it: a replacement unit's grinder motor jams consistently on light roast beans, though it handles dark roast2026-09-1113 owner reports describe this machine.The differenceNot comparable
For and against
The evidence's own caseBarista Pro

For

  • A 54 mm portafilter basket, the size the site's own accessories line stocks tampers and baskets for (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: boiler volume and material, pump pressure, milk frother, body material.
Barista Touch

For

  • Narrower than the other: 12.5 in (31.8 cm) against 13.9 in (35.4 cm) (retailer)
  • Shallower than the other: 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] against 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] (retailer)
  • A 54 mm portafilter basket, the size the site's own accessories line stocks tampers and baskets for (manufacturer)
  • The maker states more of the sheet's own fields for this one than for any other in the category (15 of them) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: boiler volume and material, body material.
The differenceNot comparable
Its own pageSee the Barista ProSee the Barista Touch

Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.

More comparisons with Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878): vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK), vs Bambino Plus Espresso Machine (BES500)

More comparisons with Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880): vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK), vs Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL)

Which one for which kitchen?

Where can you buy them?

What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.

ItemMerchantAvailabilityPriceReturnsRoute
Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878)Brevillethe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$849.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.
Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880)Brevillethe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$999.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.

What do owners report about each?

Barista Pro

Seven reports describe the Barista Pro, all from a single source.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper3 reports · 1 source
  • room behind2 reports · 1 source

As of 8 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Barista Pro page

Barista Touch

Thirteen reports describe the Barista Touch.

Most reported

  • room above5 reports · 3 sources
  • reaching the hopper3 reports · 3 sources

As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Barista Touch page

Your counter decides it.

If the counter is tight: the Barista Touch. If you have the depth: the Barista Pro.

Between 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] and 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] only the Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880) clears. At 16.1 in (41 cm) [John Lewis prints 13.5 in (34.3 cm)] or more the depth decides nothing, and under 12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)] neither of them fits. (retailer)

We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.

Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, including any drip tray or handle.

Every espresso machine we hold