Barista Express
13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)]width · retailer
Two products, and a counter we have not seen
Barista Express is 13.3 in (33.8 cm) wide, 12.3 in (31.3 cm) deep and 16 in (40.7 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though Williams Sonoma prints the width as 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm), and though Seattle Coffee Gear prints the depth as 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm), and though Whole Latte Love prints the height as 15.8 in (40.1 cm); Williams Sonoma prints 14.5 in (36.8 cm). Barista Touch is 12.5 in (31.8 cm) wide, 12.7 in (32.3 cm) deep and 16 in (40.6 cm) tall (abt.com, 25 September 2026), though Breville (bes880 product page) prints the depth as 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm), and though Breville (bes880 product page) prints the height as 15.7 in (39.9 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 15.7 in (40 cm). Width separates them by more than anything else, 0.8 in (2 cm). With 13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)] of width or more, both fit; between 12.5 in (31.8 cm) and 13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)] only the Barista Touch clears; below 12.5 in (31.8 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.
Width separates them by more than anything else, 0.8 in (2 cm). With 13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)] of width or more, both fit; between 12.5 in (31.8 cm) and 13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)] only the Barista Touch clears; below 12.5 in (31.8 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)]width · retailer
| What decides it | If you have the widthBarista Express$699.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | If the counter is tightBarista Touch$999.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | The difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 rows we can fill | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage. | |||
| Width | Barista Express13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Touch12.5 in (31.8 cm)smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.8 in (2 cm)BARISTA TOUCH IS SMALLER |
| Depth | Barista Express12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Touch12.7 in (32.3 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.5 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 12.4 in (31.4 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.4 in (1 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Height | Barista Express16 in (40.7 cm) [Whole Latte Love prints 15.8 in (40.1 cm); Williams Sonoma prints 14.5 in (36.8 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Touch16 in (40.6 cm) [Breville (bes880 product page) prints 15.7 in (39.9 cm); Breville Australia (bes880 product page) prints 15.7 in (40 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0 in (0.1 cm)BARISTA TOUCH IS SMALLER |
| Voltage | Barista Express120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Touch120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The differenceThe same |
| Weight | Barista Express22.1 lb (10 kg)largerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Touch21.8 lb (9.9 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The difference0.3 lb (130 g)BARISTA TOUCH IS SMALLER |
| 4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden | |||
| Power rating | Published figures differPublished figures differ for the Barista Express, so that reading is not used. | ||
| Shot quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has pulled one. | ||
| Reliability over five years | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data. | ||
| Build quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here. | ||
| Still missing before a fit answer | Barista ExpressNothing missingPublished figures differ on power rating, so neither is used. | Barista TouchNothing outstanding | The differenceNot comparable |
| What the maker states | |||
| 7 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Tank size, Filling it in place, Pump pressure, Portafilter basket, Temperature control, Built-in grinder. | |||
| 2 measures with no figure to compare: Boiler volume and material, Body material. | |||
| Weight | Barista Express10018 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Touch9888 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Voltage | Barista Express120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Touch120 VBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Power draw | Barista ExpressPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit. | Barista Touch1680 WBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Current draw | Barista ExpressNot stated at the source we hold | Barista Touch14 ABREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Tank size | Barista Express2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Touch2 LBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| How the tank comes out | Barista ExpressTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista TouchRearASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Filling it in place | Barista ExpressNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista TouchNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler | Barista Expresssingle, thermocoil (not badged ThermoJet on this model)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Touchthermocoil, ThermoJetBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler volume and material | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista TouchNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Pump pressure | Barista Express15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Touch15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Portafilter basket | Barista Express54 mmASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Touch54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Heat-up time | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista TouchReady in 3 seconds thermojet systemBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Temperature control | Barista ExpressPID TEMPERATURE CONTROLASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista TouchPID TEMPERATURE CONTROLASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Milk frother | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista TouchFor automatic milk texturingASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Built-in grinder | Barista ExpressYes6 September 2026 | Barista TouchYes6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Body material | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista TouchNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Warranty | Barista Express1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista Touch2 Year WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Owner reports | |||
| What owners say | Barista ExpressFilling the tank where it stands: unless it is plumbed in, the machine has to be slid out of its corner to take the tank out2026-09-1111 owner reports describe this machine. | Barista TouchBeans that clog it: a replacement unit's grinder motor jams consistently on light roast beans, though it handles dark roast2026-09-1113 owner reports describe this machine. | The differenceNot comparable |
| For and against | |||
| The evidence's own case | Barista Express For
Against
| Barista Touch For
Against
| The differenceNot comparable |
| Its own page | See the Barista Express | See the Barista Touch | |
Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.
More comparisons with Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL): vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK), vs Bambino Espresso Machine (BES450)
More comparisons with Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880): vs Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878), vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK)
The Barista Touch is 20 mm narrower than the Barista Express, 318 mm against 338 mm, and the Express is 10 mm shallower, 313 mm against 323 mm, so the two pull in opposite directions by small amounts. Height is level at 406 mm and 407 mm. These are retailer figures with each side labelled, a pair within 5 mm behind each one: Abt and Target for the Touch, Bi-Rite Home Appliances with Seattle Coffee Gear or Williams Sonoma for the Express.
The larger difference is in how the machines are handled. The Express's 2 L tank lifts out upward, and the Touch's slides out of the back and in again there, so think about space above the Express and space behind the Touch. The Touch also lists a touch screen with automatic milk texturing and a two-year warranty, and the Express lists a one-year warranty. Their weights are 10.018 kg and 9.888 kg. If your cabinet sits low over the counter or you make milk drinks daily, take the Touch. If the front edge of the counter is the tight spot, take the Express, knowing the margin is only 10 mm.
What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.
| Item | Merchant | Availability | Price | Returns | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$699.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. | |
| Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$999.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. |
Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL)
Brevillethe brand's own storeBarista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880)
Brevillethe brand's own storeEleven reports describe the Barista Express.
Most reported
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.
Thirteen reports describe the Barista Touch.
Most reported
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

If the counter is tight: the Barista Touch. If you have the width: the Barista Express.
Between 12.5 in (31.8 cm) and 13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)] only the Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880) clears. At 13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)] or more the width decides nothing, and under 12.5 in (31.8 cm) neither of them fits. (retailer)
We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.
Measure the widest point, from the left edge to the right edge, in millimetres.
Your counter
Three numbers, and both machines are judged on them, side by side.
Same rule as every other fit on this site: the machine's size plus the room its maker asks for, against your width, your depth and the space above. Your counter is kept in this browser only. No account, nothing sent to Setistry, nothing shared; clear your browser and it is gone.