Barista Express
12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]depth · retailer
Two products, and a counter we have not seen
Barista Express is 13.3 in (33.8 cm) wide, 12.3 in (31.3 cm) deep and 16 in (40.7 cm) tall (birite.com.au, 25 September 2026), though Williams Sonoma prints the width as 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm), and though Seattle Coffee Gear prints the depth as 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm), and though Whole Latte Love prints the height as 15.8 in (40.1 cm); Williams Sonoma prints 14.5 in (36.8 cm). Barista Express Impress is 13 in (33 cm) wide, 15 in (38.1 cm) deep and 16.3 in (41.3 cm) tall (seattlecoffeegear.com, 25 September 2026), though Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints the width as 15 in (38 cm), and though Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints the depth as 13 in (33 cm). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.7 in (6.8 cm). With 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] and 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] only the Barista Express clears; below 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.
Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.7 in (6.8 cm). With 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] of depth or more, both fit; between 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] and 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] only the Barista Express clears; below 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.
12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]depth · retailer
15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)]depth · retailer
| What decides it | If the counter is tightBarista Express$699.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | If you have the depthBarista Express Impress$799.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | The difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 rows we can fill | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage. | |||
| Width | Barista Express13.3 in (33.8 cm) [Williams Sonoma prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 12.5 in (31.8 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress13 in (33 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 15 in (38 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.3 in (0.8 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IMPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Depth | Barista Express12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)]largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference2.7 in (6.8 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Height | Barista Express16 in (40.7 cm) [Whole Latte Love prints 15.8 in (40.1 cm); Williams Sonoma prints 14.5 in (36.8 cm)]smallerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress16.3 in (41.3 cm)largerRETAILER · 25 September 2026 | The difference0.2 in (0.6 cm)BARISTA EXPRESS IS SMALLER |
| Voltage | Barista Express120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The differenceThe same |
| Weight | Barista Express22.1 lb (10 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress22.6 lb (10.3 kg)largerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | The difference0.5 lb (232 g)BARISTA EXPRESS IS SMALLER |
| 4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden | |||
| Power rating | Published figures differPublished figures differ for the Barista Express, so that reading is not used. | ||
| Shot quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has pulled one. | ||
| Reliability over five years | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data. | ||
| Build quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here. | ||
| Still missing before a fit answer | Barista ExpressNothing missingPublished figures differ on power rating, so neither is used. | Barista Express ImpressNothing outstanding | The differenceNot comparable |
| What the maker states | |||
| 7 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Tank size, How the tank comes out, Filling it in place, Pump pressure, Portafilter basket, Built-in grinder. | |||
| 4 measures with no figure to compare: Boiler volume and material, Heat-up time, Milk frother, Body material. | |||
| Weight | Barista Express10018 gBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress10250 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Voltage | Barista Express120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Power draw | Barista ExpressPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit. | Barista Express Impress1750 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Current draw | Barista ExpressNot stated at the source we hold | Barista Express Impress14.6 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Tank size | Barista Express2 LBREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress2 LASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| How the tank comes out | Barista ExpressTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Express ImpressTopASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Filling it in place | Barista ExpressNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Express ImpressNoASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler | Barista Expresssingle, thermocoil (not badged ThermoJet on this model)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Express Impressthermocoil, PID temperature control at 200FBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Boiler volume and material | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Pump pressure | Barista Express15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress15 bar Italian pump, 9 bar extractionBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Portafilter basket | Barista Express54 mmASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress54 mmBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Heat-up time | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Temperature control | Barista ExpressPID TEMPERATURE CONTROLASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Barista Express ImpressTHERMOCOIL PRECISIONASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Milk frother | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Built-in grinder | Barista ExpressYes6 September 2026 | Barista Express ImpressYes6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Body material | Barista ExpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Barista Express ImpressNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Warranty | Barista Express1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | Barista Express Impress2 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Owner reports | |||
| What owners say | Barista ExpressFilling the tank where it stands: unless it is plumbed in, the machine has to be slid out of its corner to take the tank out2026-09-1111 owner reports describe this machine. | Barista Express ImpressBeans that clog it: about 30 percent of the time beans jam at the hopper's feed openings and have to be stirred loose2026-09-1110 owner reports describe this machine. | The differenceNot comparable |
| For and against | |||
| The evidence's own case | Barista Express For
Against
| Barista Express Impress For
Against
| The differenceNot comparable |
| Its own page | See the Barista Express | See the Barista Express Impress | |
Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.
More comparisons with Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL): vs Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878), vs Barista Touch Espresso Machine (BES880)
More comparisons with Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876): vs Barista Pro Espresso Machine (BES878), vs Stilosa Espresso Machine (EC260BK)
Related answers: Ninja Luxe Cafe Premier or Barista Express Impress: What Each Maker States
Depth is the one axis that separates the Barista Express from the Barista Express Impress, at 313 mm against 381 mm. Width is 338 mm against 330 mm and height 407 mm against 413 mm, each within 10 mm. The sizes come from retailer listings that label each side, two of them within 5 mm on each figure: Bi-Rite Home Appliances with Seattle Coffee Gear or Williams Sonoma for the Express, Seattle Coffee Gear with Target or Bi-Rite for the Impress.
For the extra 68 mm the Impress gives you an assisted tamping lever where the Express has an integrated 54 mm tamper, and a two-year warranty against the Express's one year. Both state a 54 mm portafilter and a 67 fl oz tank, so tank and basket do not separate them, and their weights are close, 10.018 kg and 10.25 kg. Whichever you choose, check the cabinet above your counter against the 407 mm and 413 mm heights. Pick the Express if the counter from wall to front edge is shorter than 381 mm. Pick the Impress if you have the depth and want the tamping lever.
What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.
| Item | Merchant | Availability | Price | Returns | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$699.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. | |
| Barista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$799.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. |
Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL)
Brevillethe brand's own storeBarista Express Impress Espresso Machine (BES876)
Brevillethe brand's own storeEleven reports describe the Barista Express.
Most reported
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.
Ten reports describe the Barista Express Impress.
Most reported
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

If the counter is tight: the Barista Express. If you have the depth: the Barista Express Impress.
Between 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] and 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] only the Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL) clears. At 15 in (38.1 cm) [Bi-Rite Home Appliances prints 13 in (33 cm)] or more the depth decides nothing, and under 12.3 in (31.3 cm) [Seattle Coffee Gear prints 12 in (30.5 cm); Whole Latte Love prints 13.2 in (33.5 cm)] neither of them fits. (retailer)
We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.
Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, including any drip tray or handle.
Your counter
Three numbers, and both machines are judged on them, side by side.
Same rule as every other fit on this site: the machine's size plus the room its maker asks for, against your width, your depth and the space above. Your counter is kept in this browser only. No account, nothing sent to Setistry, nothing shared; clear your browser and it is gone.