Two products, and a counter we have not seen
Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder vs Smart Grinder Pro: which fits your counter
Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder is 5.1 in (13 cm) wide, 5.9 in (15 cm) deep and 13.4 in (34 cm) tall (baratza.com, 6 September 2026). Smart Grinder Pro is 6.3 in (16 cm) wide, 8.5 in (21.5 cm) deep (breville.com, 23 September 2026) and 15.3 in (38.9 cm) tall (breville.com, 6 September 2026). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.6 in (6.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 5.9 in (15 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder clears; below 5.9 in (15 cm) neither does. Every figure behind this is a manufacturer's published dimension, and nobody has put a tape on one.
Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.
Which takes less room, the Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder or the Smart Grinder Pro?
Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.6 in (6.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 5.9 in (15 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder clears; below 5.9 in (15 cm) neither does. Every figure behind this is a manufacturer's published dimension, and nobody has put a tape on one.
The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.
How do the Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder and Smart Grinder Pro compare, figure by figure?
| What decides it | If the counter is tightVirtuoso+ Coffee Grinder$249.95 at Baratza · Oct 29 | If you have the depthSmart Grinder Pro$199.95 at Breville · Oct 29 | The difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 rows we can fill | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage. | |||
| Width | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder5.1 in (13 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro6.3 in (16 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026 | The difference1.2 in (3 cm)VIRTUOSO+ COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER |
| Depth | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder5.9 in (15 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro8.5 in (21.5 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026 | The difference2.6 in (6.5 cm)VIRTUOSO+ COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER |
| Height | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder13.4 in (34 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro15.3 in (38.9 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | The difference1.9 in (4.9 cm)VIRTUOSO+ COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER |
| Power rating | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder70 WsmallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro165 WlargerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026 | The difference95 WVIRTUOSO+ COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER |
| Voltage | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026 | The differenceThe same |
| 4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden | |||
| 1 measure reads the same on every machine: Still missing before a fit answer. | |||
| Weight | Not published by the makerThe Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder does not publish it. | ||
| Grind quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has ground with one. | ||
| Reliability over five years | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data. | ||
| Build quality | Not ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here. | ||
| Still missing before a fit answer | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderNothing outstanding | Smart Grinder ProNothing outstanding | The differenceNot comparable |
| What the maker states | |||
| 5 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Burr type, Built-in scale, Grinds direct to the portafilter, Manual or electric. | |||
| 1 measure with no figure to compare: Motor speed. | |||
| Weight | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderNot stated at the source we holdAs of 23 September 2026. | Smart Grinder Pro2900 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Voltage | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder120 VBARATZA.COM · 3 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Power draw | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder70 WBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro165 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Current draw | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder0.8 ABARATZA.COM · 10 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro1.4 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Height with the hopper on | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grindernot distinguishedBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Prowith hopper (per catalogue's own assumption note; Breville does not itself state whether the 15.3in includes the hopper)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Burr type | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderConicalBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder ProConicalBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Burr size | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder40 mmBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Burr material | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Smart Grinder ProHardened Stainless Steel Conical BurrsASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Motor speed | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | Smart Grinder ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026. | The differenceNot comparable |
| Hopper capacity | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder300 gBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro510 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Grind adjustment | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinderstepped (threaded burr adjustment); step count not restated on the current pageBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Prostepped, 60 settingsBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Timer | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderThe Virtuoso+ will grind for a predetermined length of time, shown on the display (7) in seconds.ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder ProDisplays grind setting, grind size, number of shots or cups and current grind time.ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Built-in scale | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderNoBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder ProNoBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Grinds direct to the portafilter | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderYesBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder ProYesBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Manual or electric | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderElectric6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder ProElectric6 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Warranty | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderLimited Warranty for Baratza Grinders is 1 year from the original date of purchaseASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026 | Smart Grinder Pro1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026 | The differenceNot comparable |
| Owner reports | |||
| What owners say | Virtuoso+ Coffee GrinderBeans that clog it: a two-year owner reports the grinder clogs regularly and wears through gaskets2026-09-1116 owner reports describe this machine. | Smart Grinder ProThe first weeks: on a very early grind the motor's torque limiter audibly kicked in and the grinder stalled2026-09-1118 owner reports describe this machine. | The differenceNot comparable |
| For and against | |||
| The evidence's own case | Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder For
Against
| Smart Grinder Pro For
Against
| The differenceNot comparable |
| Its own page | See the Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder | See the Smart Grinder Pro | |
Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.
More comparisons with Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder (ZCG587): vs Ode Brew Grinder Gen 2, vs Skerton Pro Ceramic Coffee Mill (MMCS-2B)
More comparisons with Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820): vs Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder (ZCG595), vs Encore ESP Grinder
Which one for which kitchen?
The Smart Grinder Pro's hopper holds 18 oz of beans, about 510 g, and the Virtuoso+'s holds 300 g, and that is the larger of the two measured differences both makers state. The other is power, 165 W against 70 W on the two rating plates. Both grinders use conical burrs, both adjust in steps, both show the grind time on a display, and both carry a one-year warranty, so none of those splits the pair.
What does split it is the job. Breville lists 60 grind settings for the Smart Grinder Pro, running from espresso to French press, and ships it with portafilter cradles for 50 to 54 mm and 58 mm baskets, so it can grind straight into the portafilter of an espresso machine. Baratza's page gives the Virtuoso+ 40 mm burrs and a timer that runs in 0.1 second steps, and a dosing cup for a portafilter is a separate purchase. Choose the Smart Grinder Pro if the grinder has to feed an espresso machine, or if you fill the hopper once for several days. Choose the Virtuoso+ if 300 g in the hopper covers you and you have no use for the cradles; it is also the lighter load on a shared outlet.
Where can you buy them?
What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.
| Item | Merchant | Availability | Price | Returns | Route |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder (ZCG587) | Baratzathe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$249.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. | |
| Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820) | Brevillethe brand's own store | Check the shop's page for stock | Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$199.95 | Check the seller's return window before you buy. |
Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder (ZCG587)
Baratzathe brand's own store- Price
- Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$249.95
- Returns
- Check the seller's return window before you buy.
Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820)
Brevillethe brand's own store- Price
- Price: Oct 29: Oct 29$199.95
- Returns
- Check the seller's return window before you buy.
What do owners report about each?
Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder
Sixteen reports describe the Virtuoso Plus.
Most reported
- reaching the hopper4 reports · 2 sources
- how loud it is4 reports · 2 sources
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.
Smart Grinder Pro
Eighteen reports describe the Smart Grinder Pro.
Most reported
- reaching the hopper6 reports · 4 sources
- how it holds up3 reports · 2 sources
As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Your counter decides it.
If the counter is tight: the Virtuoso+ Coffee. If you have the depth: the Smart Grinder Pro.
Between 5.9 in (15 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder (ZCG587) clears. At 8.5 in (21.5 cm) or more the depth decides nothing, and under 5.9 in (15 cm) neither of them fits. (manufacturer)
We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.
Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, at its deepest point.
Your counter
Three numbers, and both machines are judged on them, side by side.
Same rule as every other fit on this site: the machine's size plus the room its maker asks for, against your width, your depth and the space above. Your counter is kept in this browser only. No account, nothing sent to Setistry, nothing shared; clear your browser and it is gone.






