Two products, and a counter we have not seen

Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder vs Smart Grinder Pro: which fits your counter

Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder is 5.1 in (13 cm) wide, 5.9 in (15 cm) deep and 13.4 in (34 cm) tall (baratza.com, 27 September 2026). Smart Grinder Pro is 6.3 in (16 cm) wide, 8.5 in (21.5 cm) deep (breville.com, 23 September 2026) and 15.3 in (38.9 cm) tall (breville.com, 6 September 2026). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.6 in (6.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 5.9 in (15 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder clears; below 5.9 in (15 cm) neither does. Every figure behind this is a manufacturer's published dimension, and nobody has put a tape on one.

Four rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.

Back to the picker

Which takes less room, the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder or the Smart Grinder Pro?

Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.6 in (6.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 5.9 in (15 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder clears; below 5.9 in (15 cm) neither does. Every figure behind this is a manufacturer's published dimension, and nobody has put a tape on one.

The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.

How do the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder and Smart Grinder Pro compare, figure by figure?

Every figure is used the same way it is used on each machine's own page. Where published figures differ, neither is used as a number.
What decides itIf the counter is tightEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder$299.95 at Baratza · Oct 29If you have the depthSmart Grinder Pro$199.95 at Breville · Oct 29The difference
4 rows we can fill
1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage.
WidthEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder5.1 in (13 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 27 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro6.3 in (16 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026The difference1.2 in (3 cm)ENCORE ESP PRO COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
DepthEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder5.9 in (15 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 27 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro8.5 in (21.5 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026The difference2.6 in (6.5 cm)ENCORE ESP PRO COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
HeightEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder13.4 in (34 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 27 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro15.3 in (38.9 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026The difference1.9 in (4.9 cm)ENCORE ESP PRO COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
VoltageEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder120 VMANUFACTURER · 27 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The differenceThe same
5 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden
Power ratingPublished figures differPublished figures differ for the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder, so that reading is not used.
WeightPublished figures differPublished figures differ for the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder, so that reading is not used.
Grind qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has ground with one.
Reliability over five yearsNot ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data.
Build qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here.
Still missing before a fit answerEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderNothing missingPublished figures differ on power rating, weight, so neither is used.Smart Grinder ProNothing outstandingThe differenceNot comparable
What the maker states
3 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Burr type, Manual or electric.
WeightEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit.Smart Grinder Pro2900 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
VoltageEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder120 VBARATZA.COM · 27 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Power drawEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit.Smart Grinder Pro165 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Current drawEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder0.8 ABARATZA.COM · 27 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro1.4 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Height with the hopper onEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderNot stated at breville-production-aem-assets.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.comAs of 28 September 2026.Smart Grinder Prowith hopper (per catalogue's own assumption note; Breville does not itself state whether the 15.3in includes the hopper)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr typeEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderConicalBREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder ProConicalBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr sizeEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder40 mmBREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Burr materialEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderOur much reviewed M2 precision steel burrs are integrated into a high resolution, stepless grind adjustment mechanism for unparalleled performance.BREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder ProHardened Stainless Steel Conical BurrsASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Motor speedEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder550 RPMBREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Hopper capacityEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder200 gBREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro510 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grind adjustmentEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderStepless (no numbered settings)BREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder Prostepped, 60 settingsBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
TimerEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderTwo Hands-Free Grinding Modes let you grind hands-free: Single Dose Mode with auto-stop grinding and Timer Mode with 0.1 second dosing accuracy.BREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder ProDisplays grind setting, grind size, number of shots or cups and current grind time.ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Built-in scaleEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderNot stated at breville-production-aem-assets.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.comAs of 28 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProNoBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grinds direct to the portafilterEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderYes, via the included dosing cup and baseBREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder ProYesBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Manual or electricEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderElectric6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProElectric6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
WarrantyEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderUS: 1-year manufacturer's warranty / EMEA & APAC: 2-year manufacturer's warrantyBREVILLE-PRODUCTION-AEM-ASSETS.S3.US-WEST-2.AMAZONAWS.COM · 28 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Owner reports
What owners sayEncore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderSmart Grinder ProThe first weeks: on a very early grind the motor's torque limiter audibly kicked in and the grinder stalled2026-09-1118 owner reports describe this machine.The differenceNot comparable
For and against
The evidence's own caseEncore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder

For

  • Narrower than the other: 5.1 in (13 cm) against 6.3 in (16 cm) (manufacturer)
  • Shallower than the other: 5.9 in (15 cm) against 8.5 in (21.5 cm) (manufacturer)
  • Shorter than the other: 13.4 in (34 cm) against 15.3 in (38.9 cm) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: height with the hopper on, built-in scale.
Smart Grinder Pro

For

  • The maker states more of the sheet's own fields for this one than for any other in the category (14 of them) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: burr size, motor speed.
The differenceNot comparable
Its own pageSee the Encore ESP Pro Coffee GrinderSee the Smart Grinder Pro

Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.

More comparisons with Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder (ZCG595): vs Skerton Pro Ceramic Coffee Mill (MMCS-2B), vs Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder (ZCG587)

More comparisons with Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820): vs Encore ESP Grinder, vs Encore Coffee Grinder

Which one for which kitchen?

Where can you buy them?

What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.

ItemMerchantAvailabilityPriceReturnsRoute
Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder (ZCG595)Baratzathe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$299.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.
Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820)Brevillethe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$199.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.

What do owners report about each?

Smart Grinder Pro

Eighteen reports describe the Smart Grinder Pro.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper6 reports · 4 sources
  • how it holds up3 reports · 2 sources

As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Smart Grinder Pro page

Your counter decides it.

If the counter is tight: the Encore ESP Pro Coffee. If you have the depth: the Smart Grinder Pro.

Between 5.9 in (15 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore ESP Pro Coffee Grinder (ZCG595) clears. At 8.5 in (21.5 cm) or more the depth decides nothing, and under 5.9 in (15 cm) neither of them fits. (manufacturer)

We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.

Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, at its deepest point.

Every grinder we hold