Two products, and a counter we have not seen

Encore ESP vs Smart Grinder Pro: which fits your counter

Encore ESP is 4.7 in (11.9 cm) wide, 6.3 in (16 cm) deep and 13.8 in (35.1 cm) tall (seattlecoffeegear.com, 26 September 2026). Smart Grinder Pro is 6.3 in (16 cm) wide, 8.5 in (21.5 cm) deep (breville.com, 23 September 2026) and 15.3 in (38.9 cm) tall (breville.com, 6 September 2026). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.2 in (5.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 6.3 in (16 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore ESP clears; below 6.3 in (16 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.

Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.

Back to the picker

Which takes less room, the Encore ESP or the Smart Grinder Pro?

Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.2 in (5.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 6.3 in (16 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore ESP clears; below 6.3 in (16 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.

The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.

How do the Encore ESP and Smart Grinder Pro compare, figure by figure?

Every figure is used the same way it is used on each machine's own page. Where published figures differ, neither is used as a number.
What decides itIf the counter is tightEncore ESP$199.95 at Baratza · Oct 29If you have the depthSmart Grinder Pro$199.95 at Breville · Oct 29The difference
5 rows we can fill
1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage.
WidthEncore ESP4.7 in (11.9 cm)smallerRETAILER · 26 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro6.3 in (16 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026The difference1.6 in (4 cm)ENCORE ESP IS SMALLER
DepthEncore ESP6.3 in (16 cm)smallerRETAILER · 26 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro8.5 in (21.5 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026The difference2.2 in (5.5 cm)ENCORE ESP IS SMALLER
HeightEncore ESP13.8 in (35.1 cm)smallerRETAILER · 26 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro15.3 in (38.9 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026The difference1.5 in (3.9 cm)ENCORE ESP IS SMALLER
Power ratingEncore ESP70 WsmallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro165 WlargerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026The difference95 WENCORE ESP IS SMALLER
VoltageEncore ESP120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The differenceThe same
4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden
1 measure reads the same on every machine: Still missing before a fit answer.
WeightNot published by the makerThe Encore ESP does not publish it.
Grind qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has ground with one.
Reliability over five yearsNot ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data.
Build qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here.
Still missing before a fit answerEncore ESPNothing outstandingSmart Grinder ProNothing outstandingThe differenceNot comparable
What the maker states
5 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Burr type, Built-in scale, Grinds direct to the portafilter, Manual or electric.
1 measure with no figure to compare: Motor speed.
WeightEncore ESPNot stated at the source we holdAs of 23 September 2026.Smart Grinder Pro2900 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
VoltageEncore ESP120 VBARATZA.COM · 3 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Power drawEncore ESP70 WBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro165 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Current drawEncore ESP0.8 ABARATZA.COM · 10 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro1.4 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Height with the hopper onEncore ESPNot stated at baratza.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder Prowith hopper (per catalogue's own assumption note; Breville does not itself state whether the 15.3in includes the hopper)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr typeEncore ESPConicalBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProConicalBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr sizeEncore ESP40 mmBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Burr materialEncore ESPNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProHardened Stainless Steel Conical BurrsASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Motor speedEncore ESPNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Hopper capacityEncore ESP300 gBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro510 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grind adjustmentEncore ESPstepped, 40 total settings: 1-20 espresso range, 21-40 filter rangeBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Prostepped, 60 settingsBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
TimerEncore ESPNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProDisplays grind setting, grind size, number of shots or cups and current grind time.ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Built-in scaleEncore ESPNoBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProNoBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grinds direct to the portafilterEncore ESPYesBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProYesBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Manual or electricEncore ESPElectric6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProElectric6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
WarrantyEncore ESPLimited Warranty for Baratza Grinders is 1 year from the original date of purchaseASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Owner reports
What owners sayEncore ESPThe first weeks: the part that holds the ring burr failed inside the first month for this buyer2026-09-1113 owner reports describe this machine.Smart Grinder ProThe first weeks: on a very early grind the motor's torque limiter audibly kicked in and the grinder stalled2026-09-1118 owner reports describe this machine.The differenceNot comparable
For and against
The evidence's own caseEncore ESP

For

  • Narrower than the other: 4.7 in (11.9 cm) against 6.3 in (16 cm) (retailer)
  • Shallower than the other: 6.3 in (16 cm) against 8.5 in (21.5 cm) (retailer)
  • Shorter than the other: 13.8 in (35.1 cm) against 15.3 in (38.9 cm) (retailer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: weight, height with the hopper on, burr material, motor speed, timer.
Smart Grinder Pro

For

  • The maker states more of the sheet's own fields for this one than for any other in the category (14 of them) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: burr size, motor speed.
The differenceNot comparable
Its own pageSee the Encore ESPSee the Smart Grinder Pro

Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.

More comparisons with Encore ESP Grinder: vs Skerton Pro Ceramic Coffee Mill (MMCS-2B), vs Encore Coffee Grinder

More comparisons with Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820): vs Encore Coffee Grinder, vs Sette 270 Espresso Grinder (ZCG1270)

Related answers: A Grinder for the Breville Bambino: What Breville and Baratza State, Which Grinder Takes the Least Counter in a Small Kitchen

Where can you buy them?

What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.

ItemMerchantAvailabilityPriceReturnsRoute
Encore ESP GrinderBaratzathe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$199.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.
Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820)Brevillethe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$199.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.

What do owners report about each?

Encore ESP

Thirteen reports describe the Encore ESP.

Most reported

  • static and mess3 reports · 3 sources
  • how loud it is3 reports · 2 sources

As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Encore ESP page

Smart Grinder Pro

Eighteen reports describe the Smart Grinder Pro.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper6 reports · 4 sources
  • how it holds up3 reports · 2 sources

As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Smart Grinder Pro page

Your counter decides it.

If the counter is tight: the Encore ESP. If you have the depth: the Smart Grinder Pro.

Between 6.3 in (16 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore ESP Grinder clears. At 8.5 in (21.5 cm) or more the depth decides nothing, and under 6.3 in (16 cm) neither of them fits. (retailer)

We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.

Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, at its deepest point.

Every grinder we hold