Two products, and a counter we have not seen

Encore Coffee Grinder vs Smart Grinder Pro: which fits your counter

Encore Coffee Grinder is 4.7 in (12 cm) wide, 6.3 in (16 cm) deep (twinpike.com, 26 September 2026) and height: published figures differ. Smart Grinder Pro is 6.3 in (16 cm) wide, 8.5 in (21.5 cm) deep (breville.com, 23 September 2026) and 15.3 in (38.9 cm) tall (breville.com, 6 September 2026). Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.2 in (5.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 6.3 in (16 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore Coffee Grinder clears; below 6.3 in (16 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.

Four rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.

Back to the picker

Which takes less room, the Encore Coffee Grinder or the Smart Grinder Pro?

Depth separates them by more than anything else, 2.2 in (5.5 cm). With 8.5 in (21.5 cm) of depth or more, both fit; between 6.3 in (16 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore Coffee Grinder clears; below 6.3 in (16 cm) neither does. The weakest figure behind this comes from a retailer listing, not the manufacturer.

The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.

How do the Encore Coffee Grinder and Smart Grinder Pro compare, figure by figure?

Every figure is used the same way it is used on each machine's own page. Where published figures differ, neither is used as a number.
What decides itIf the counter is tightEncore Coffee Grinder$149.95 at Baratza · Oct 29If you have the depthSmart Grinder Pro$199.95 at Breville · Oct 29The difference
4 rows we can fill
1 measure reads the same on every machine: Voltage.
WidthEncore Coffee Grinder4.7 in (12 cm)smallerRETAILER · 26 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro6.3 in (16 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026The difference1.6 in (4 cm)ENCORE COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
DepthEncore Coffee Grinder6.3 in (16 cm)smallerRETAILER · 26 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro8.5 in (21.5 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 23 September 2026The difference2.2 in (5.5 cm)ENCORE COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
VoltageEncore Coffee Grinder120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The differenceThe same
WeightEncore Coffee Grinder6.8 lb (3.1 kg)largerRETAILER · 2 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro6.4 lb (2.9 kg)smallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026The difference0.4 lb (200 g)SMART GRINDER PRO IS SMALLER
5 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden
HeightPublished figures differPublished figures differ for the Encore Coffee Grinder, so that reading is not used.
Power ratingPublished figures differPublished figures differ for the Encore Coffee Grinder, so that reading is not used.
Grind qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has ground with one.
Reliability over five yearsNot ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data.
Build qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here.
Still missing before a fit answerEncore Coffee GrinderNothing missingPublished figures differ on height, power rating, so neither is used.Smart Grinder ProNothing outstandingThe differenceNot comparable
What the maker states
4 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Burr type, Built-in scale, Manual or electric.
1 measure with no figure to compare: Motor speed.
WeightEncore Coffee Grinder3100 gTWINPIKE.COM · 1 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro2900 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
VoltageEncore Coffee Grinder120 VBARATZA.COM · 3 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro120 VASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 3 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Power drawEncore Coffee GrinderPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit.Smart Grinder Pro165 WASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Current drawEncore Coffee Grinder0.8 ABARATZA.COM · 10 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro1.4 AASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Height with the hopper onEncore Coffee GrinderNot stated at baratza.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder Prowith hopper (per catalogue's own assumption note; Breville does not itself state whether the 15.3in includes the hopper)BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr typeEncore Coffee GrinderConicalBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProConicalBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr sizeEncore Coffee Grinder40 mmBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProNot stated at breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Burr materialEncore Coffee GrinderNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProHardened Stainless Steel Conical BurrsASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Motor speedEncore Coffee GrinderNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Hopper capacityEncore Coffee Grinder300 gBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro510 gBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grind adjustmentEncore Coffee Grinderstepped, 40 settings, turn-the-hopper dialBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Prostepped, 60 settingsBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
TimerEncore Coffee GrinderNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.Smart Grinder ProDisplays grind setting, grind size, number of shots or cups and current grind time.ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Built-in scaleEncore Coffee GrinderNoBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProNoBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grinds direct to the portafilterEncore Coffee Grindernot designed for it; grounds bin onlyBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProYesBREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Manual or electricEncore Coffee GrinderElectric6 September 2026Smart Grinder ProElectric6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
WarrantyEncore Coffee GrinderLimited Warranty for Baratza Grinders is 1 year from the original date of purchaseASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026Smart Grinder Pro1 Year Limited WarrantyBREVILLE.COM · 10 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Owner reports
What owners sayEncore Coffee GrinderBeans that clog it: an owner's third unit in fifteen years gummed up when an accidentally-shipped oily dark roast was ground fine2026-09-1011 owner reports describe this machine.Smart Grinder ProThe first weeks: on a very early grind the motor's torque limiter audibly kicked in and the grinder stalled2026-09-1118 owner reports describe this machine.The differenceNot comparable
For and against
The evidence's own caseEncore Coffee Grinder

For

  • Narrower than the other: 4.7 in (12 cm) against 6.3 in (16 cm) (retailer)
  • Shallower than the other: 6.3 in (16 cm) against 8.5 in (21.5 cm) (retailer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: height with the hopper on, burr material, motor speed, timer.
Smart Grinder Pro

For

  • The maker states more of the sheet's own fields for this one than for any other in the category (14 of them) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: burr size, motor speed.
The differenceNot comparable
Its own pageSee the Encore Coffee GrinderSee the Smart Grinder Pro

Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.

More comparisons with Encore Coffee Grinder: vs Ode Brew Grinder Gen 2, vs Encore ESP Grinder

More comparisons with Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820): vs Sette 270 Espresso Grinder (ZCG1270), vs Virtuoso+ Coffee Grinder (ZCG587)

Where can you buy them?

What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.

ItemMerchantAvailabilityPriceReturnsRoute
Encore Coffee GrinderBaratzathe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$149.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.
Smart Grinder Pro (BCG820)Brevillethe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 29: Oct 29$199.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.

What do owners report about each?

Encore Coffee Grinder

Eleven reports describe the Encore.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper3 reports · 2 sources
  • room above2 reports · 2 sources

As of 10 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Encore Coffee Grinder page

Smart Grinder Pro

Eighteen reports describe the Smart Grinder Pro.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper6 reports · 4 sources
  • how it holds up3 reports · 2 sources

As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Smart Grinder Pro page

Your counter decides it.

If the counter is tight: the Encore Coffee. If you have the depth: the Smart Grinder Pro.

Between 6.3 in (16 cm) and 8.5 in (21.5 cm) only the Encore Coffee Grinder clears. At 8.5 in (21.5 cm) or more the depth decides nothing, and under 6.3 in (16 cm) neither of them fits. (retailer)

We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.

Measure from the very back of the item to the very front, at its deepest point.

Every grinder we hold