Two products, and a counter we have not seen

Forte AP Coffee Grinder vs DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder: which fits under your cabinets

Forte AP Coffee Grinder is 5.1 in (13 cm) wide, 7.1 in (18 cm) deep and 14.6 in (37 cm) tall (baratza.com, 6 September 2026). DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder is 5.1 in (13 cm) wide, 8.9 in (22.5 cm) deep and 11.8 in (30 cm) tall (df64coffee.com, 1 September 2026). Height separates them by more than anything else, 2.8 in (7 cm). With 14.6 in (37 cm) of height or more, both fit; between 11.8 in (30 cm) and 14.6 in (37 cm) only the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder clears; below 11.8 in (30 cm) neither does. Every figure behind this is a manufacturer's published dimension, and nobody has put a tape on one.

Five rows we can fill. A comparison table is usually the same length whatever is actually known. This one is as long as the evidence and no longer.

Back to the picker

Which takes less room, the Forte AP Coffee Grinder or the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder?

Height separates them by more than anything else, 2.8 in (7 cm). With 14.6 in (37 cm) of height or more, both fit; between 11.8 in (30 cm) and 14.6 in (37 cm) only the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder clears; below 11.8 in (30 cm) neither does. Every figure behind this is a manufacturer's published dimension, and nobody has put a tape on one.

The two of them, on the figure this page turns on.

How do the Forte AP Coffee Grinder and DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder compare, figure by figure?

Every figure is used the same way it is used on each machine's own page. Where published figures differ, neither is used as a number.
What decides itIf you have the heightForte AP Coffee Grinder$849.95 at Baratza · Oct 30If the counter is tightDF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder$399 at DF64 · Oct 30was $450 Save $51 (11%)The difference
5 rows we can fill
2 measures read the same on every machine: Width, Voltage.
WidthForte AP Coffee Grinder5.1 in (13 cm)MANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder5.1 in (13 cm)MANUFACTURER · 1 September 2026The differenceThe same
DepthForte AP Coffee Grinder7.1 in (18 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder8.9 in (22.5 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 1 September 2026The difference1.8 in (4.5 cm)FORTE AP COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
HeightForte AP Coffee Grinder14.6 in (37 cm)largerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder11.8 in (30 cm)smallerMANUFACTURER · 1 September 2026The difference2.8 in (7 cm)DF64 GEN 2 SINGLE DOSE COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
Power ratingForte AP Coffee Grinder130 WsmallerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder250 WlargerMANUFACTURER · 6 September 2026The difference120 WFORTE AP COFFEE GRINDER IS SMALLER
VoltageForte AP Coffee Grinder120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder120 VMANUFACTURER · 3 September 2026The differenceThe same
4 rows we will not fill · stated, not hidden
WeightPublished figures differPublished figures differ for the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder, so that reading is not used. The Forte AP Coffee Grinder does not publish it.
Grind qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, nobody here has ground with one.
Reliability over five yearsNot ours to sayNot ours to say, we hold no service data.
Build qualityNot ours to sayNot ours to say, no unit has been handled here.
Still missing before a fit answerForte AP Coffee GrinderNothing outstandingDF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderNothing missingPublished figures differ on weight, so neither is used.The differenceNot comparable
What the maker states
2 measures read the same on every machine: Voltage, Manual or electric.
4 measures with no figure to compare: Weight, Height with the hopper on, Motor speed, Grinds direct to the portafilter.
WeightForte AP Coffee GrinderNot stated at the source we holdAs of 23 September 2026.DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderPublished figures differTwo published figures differ; neither is used for fit.The differenceNot comparable
VoltageForte AP Coffee Grinder120 VBARATZA.COM · 3 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder120 VDF64COFFEE.COM · 1 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Power drawForte AP Coffee Grinder130 WBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder250 WDF64COFFEE.COM · 1 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Current drawForte AP Coffee Grinder1.1 ABARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder2.1 ADF64COFFEE.COM · 1 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Height with the hopper onForte AP Coffee GrinderNot stated at baratza.comAs of 6 September 2026.DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderNot stated at df64coffee.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Burr typeForte AP Coffee Grinderflat, ceramicBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderFlatDF64COFFEE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr sizeForte AP Coffee Grinder54 mmBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder64 mmDF64COFFEE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Burr materialForte AP Coffee Grinder*Ceramic Burrs (Forté AP)ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinderstainless steelDF64COFFEE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Motor speedForte AP Coffee GrinderNot stated at assets.breville.comAs of 6 September 2026.DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderNot stated at df64coffee.comAs of 13 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Hopper capacityForte AP Coffee Grinder300 gBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder50 gDF64COFFEE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grind adjustmentForte AP Coffee Grindermacro ring + 26 micro adjustments per macro settingBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinderstepless micrometricDF64COFFEE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
TimerForte AP Coffee GrinderTo grind a pre-portioned dose of coffee, grinding volumetrically, or grinding using the PortaHolder (18, AP), the Forté is equipped with a timer function.ASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderNot stated at df64coffee.comAs of 13 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Built-in scaleForte AP Coffee GrinderYesBARATZA.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderNoDF64COFFEE.COM · 6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Grinds direct to the portafilterForte AP Coffee GrinderNot stated at baratza.comAs of 6 September 2026.DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderNot stated at turingrinders.comAs of 6 September 2026.The differenceNot comparable
Manual or electricForte AP Coffee GrinderElectric6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderElectric6 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
WarrantyForte AP Coffee GrinderLimited Warranty for Baratza Grinders is 1 year from the original date of purchaseASSETS.BREVILLE.COM · 6 September 2026DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderWorldwide 1 Year WarrantyDF64COFFEE.COM · 13 September 2026The differenceNot comparable
Owner reports
What owners sayForte AP Coffee GrinderThe first weeks: an owner concluded after three weeks that the unit itself was defective2026-09-1118 owner reports describe this machine.DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderWhat a new unit needed first: a new unit arrived with the burrs nowhere near zero and had to be calibrated before it ground properly2026-09-107 owner reports describe this machine.The differenceNot comparable
For and against
The evidence's own caseForte AP Coffee Grinder

For

  • Shallower than the other: 7.1 in (18 cm) against 8.9 in (22.5 cm) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: weight, height with the hopper on, motor speed, grinds direct to the portafilter.
DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder

For

  • Shorter than the other: 11.8 in (30 cm) against 14.6 in (37 cm) (manufacturer)

Against

  • Not stated at the source we hold: height with the hopper on, motor speed, timer, grinds direct to the portafilter.
The differenceNot comparable
Its own pageSee the Forte AP Coffee GrinderSee the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder

Every figure here is one the maker published; the difference beside it is our subtraction, in that line's own unit.

More comparisons with Forte AP Coffee Grinder (ZCG1085): vs Sette 270 Espresso Grinder (ZCG1270)

More comparisons with DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder: vs Sette 270 Espresso Grinder (ZCG1270), vs Skerton Pro Ceramic Coffee Mill (MMCS-2B)

Which one for which kitchen?

Where can you buy them?

What each merchant showed, and the day we looked.

ItemMerchantAvailabilityPriceReturnsRoute
Forte AP Coffee Grinder (ZCG1085)Baratzathe brand's own storeCheck the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 30: Oct 30$849.95Check the seller's return window before you buy.
DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee GrinderDF64Check the shop's page for stockPrice: Oct 30: Oct 30$399was $450 Save $51 (11%)Check the seller's return window before you buy.
DF64$399was $450 Save $51 (11%)Oct 30View at DF64

What do owners report about each?

Forte AP Coffee Grinder

Eighteen reports describe the Forte AP.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper6 reports · 4 sources
  • room above3 reports · 3 sources

As of 11 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the Forte AP Coffee Grinder page

DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder

Seven reports describe the DF64 Gen 2.

Most reported

  • reaching the hopper2 reports · 2 sources
  • what a new unit needed first2 reports · 1 source

As of 10 September 2026. We quote owners in their own words; it is never a measurement or a fit answer.

Read all owner reports on the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder page

Your counter decides it.

If the counter is tight: the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee. If you have the height: the Forte AP Coffee.

Between 11.8 in (30 cm) and 14.6 in (37 cm) only the DF64 Gen 2 Single Dose Coffee Grinder clears. At 14.6 in (37 cm) or more the height decides nothing, and under 11.8 in (30 cm) neither of them fits. (manufacturer)

We are not picking one. Your counter picks it, and yours is the measurement missing from this page.

Measure from the counter to the highest point, with any lid or hopper closed.

Every grinder we hold